Editorial Report #1 Postmortem

  1. I started and finished the editorial report assignment last night. It took me about 1-2 hours from start to finish. I had to reread the paper a few times to be able to make better comments.
  2. I have not had to complete a review like this in a long time, so it was difficult to come up with suggestions to make the paper better.
  3. The easiest part was summarizing the paper. The hardest part was coming up with specific ways to improve the paper in each category. There was not too much to edit because journal critiques have a 2-page maximum.
  4. I wish I had a better understanding of the original article to be able to provide more insight when editing the critique.
  5. Now that I have written and edited my own journal critique as well as edited someone else’s, I would be very likely to choose this assignment in the future. I would be very comfortable with this assignment because I am now very familiar with the project specifications.
  6. I would work this assignment the same way in the future. I started off by reading the original article then reading the critique a couple of times. I then gave the critique another reading, this time making comments. I feel like this approached worked for me because I had a good understanding of the paper as a whole before I started to make comments.

Leave a comment